Beaufort Bowls Club Team

Beaufort Bowls Club was founded in 1926.  This was a time when the miners of the area were on strike and built many such facilities to occupy their time.  In recent years the area has become very strong in bowling terms as more people put more emphasis on their leisure time.  The club is affiliated to the WMBA, MBA & WBA.

The local league which roughly encompasses the Blaenau Gwent area, consists of nine clubs.  Abertillery, Beaufort, Blaina, Brynmawr, Ebbw Vale Welfare, Llanhilleth,  Rhymney Royal, RTB Ebbw Vale, & Six Bells.  These clubs make up the West Monmouthshire Bowling Association (WMBA).

The WMBA is one of six district bowling associations which make up the Monmouthshire County Bowling Association (MBA).  The other five being East Monmouthshire Bowling Association, Eastern Valley Bowling Association, Newport Bowling Association, Rhymney & Sirhowy Valley Bowling Association and South Monmouthshire Bowling Association.

The MBA are one of ten County Bowling Associations that make up the Welsh Bowling Association (WBA).  The other County Bowling Associations are Ceredigion, Carmarthenshire, Mid Glamorgan, Mid Wales, Montgomeryshire, Pembrokeshire, South Glamorgan, Vale of Glamorgan & West Glamorgan.

Beaufort are members of the West Monmouthshire bowling association league, the Monmouthshire League, the East Wales Private Greens League and the Welsh club championship, i.e. The Carruthers Shield.